Mass Exodus of Doctors

Always, my goal is to try to reduce the amount of doctors I must see and the appointments I have scheduled in order to live as normal of a life as is possible with this disease/disorder. Lately I have been doing very well in meeting this goal.

I lessened the visits to one doctor, my pulmonologist, by calling, canceling the appointment and…uh… not rescheduling a new one. That’s probably not the recommended method of reducing the scheduled doctor visits I have, but it works. Plus, my breathing is fine right now.

In a much more recommended method: I was given the “make an appointment when needed” by my GI doctor. Fortunately, my weight has held steady and I’m not losing massive amounts anymore (granted, this comes with its own existential crisis that most American women face). I still fluctuate between intense stomach pain and nausea at times, but those are manageable with meds (Zofran is my hero) and are not affecting my life too much.

My nephrologist also set me free to decide when/if I need to see her again. I don’t have any explanations for why I waste magnesium and calcium into my urine, but it doesn’t seem to currently be affecting me too much and I’m willing to ignore it for right now. Otherwise, my kidney tests have all been normal. I sometimes still see the brown urine when I extend myself too much, but it’s not been consistent enough for me to bother with testing.

The third doctor who gave me the ‘all-clear’ was the osteoporosis/endocrinologist doctor whom I saw. I had a DEXA scan and while my T score showed osteopenia, my Z score was normal. We are going to follow the Z score for now until I get a bit older. She did recommend a treatment plan to raise my Vit D levels. The lower limit of a normal Vit. D level is 30. Mine was 17 and my doctors want my levels around 25. Having a slightly lower level of Vit. D is beneficial for me due to the wasting of calcium. So I am only taking a small amount of Vit. D supplements. I am hoping that they do have a positive effect on how I feel.

Overall my health has been pretty well behaved lately. I am glad to be able to reduce the amount of doctors I see on a consistent basis and I would be ecstatic if this could be a permanent reduction in appointments. Time will tell.

The only thing that has been steadily grumpy and getting worse is my heart. I’m really not sure what to do about the symptoms I have been having. I have absolutely no desire to increase the dosage of my beta-blocker or to add a calcium channel blocker. I think, in this case, the least unpleasant plan would be to see an electrophysiologist, but I’m not sure I like where that road leads. At least I have until October to decide what to do.

This disease sucks, it really really sucks, but at least I am holding my own against it 🙂

Leave a Reply

